MuseumsOdessa Fine Arts Museum

The Odessa Fine Arts Museum owns one of the richest and the most interesting collections of artworks in the country. It is located at the very centre of Odessa, in one of the most beautiful buildings of the city — the ancient Naryshkins’ Palace. This unique architectural monument was built in 1820s in the best traditions of Russian classicism. In 1888 the palace was bought by a prominent public figure, philanthropist and collector Gregory Marazli, who gave it to the city with a view to placing in it the Museum of Fine Arts. The opening of the museum took place on October 24, 1899.

Museum’s collection today is considered to be one of the most significant and diverse in Ukraine. It currently numbers more than 10 000 objects of fine arts: painting, drawing, sculpture, icon painting, arts and crafts. The exposition is built in historical and chronological sequence.

Here we can see recognized masters from XІX–XX centuries — Ivan Aivazovsky, Ilya Repin, Isaak Levitan, Vasily Surikov, Mikhail Vrubel, Valentin Serov, Nikolai Roerich, Zinaida Serebryakova, Konstantin Somov, Natalia Goncharova, Wassily Kandinsky and many others.

Also, here we can enjoy terrific collection of Orthodox icons(Russian and Ukrainian Icons of the XVI–XIX centuries), that gives a complete picture of the features of the iconic letters and includes artistic works of  high level. A collection of great interest is presented in the hall of arts and crafts — the works of Mary Primachenko, ceramics and glass, embroidery, weaving, woodcarving, metal objects and skin. At the modern art department we’ll see a number of works, created after 1920, including the well-known representatives of Odessa nonconformism.